How to Bind!

Help defend Paragon City from the forces of EBIL! (Or trash the place and cause mayhem!)
User avatar
Munki
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7736
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 6:34 pm
Custom Rank: Alouette, gentille Alouette
Location: The Jungle

How to Bind!

Postby Munki » Mon May 03, 2004 11:02 am

Some of you may have seen my spiffy Taunt messages or my new colored chat bubbles. A bunch of people asked me how I did it, so I'm posting the Bind FAQ from the official message board here. It's pretty long. Once you've read through it, let me know and I can help you out in debugging whatever binding you are having problems with :)

Bind FAQ on CoH messageboards
Space for Rent

User avatar
Lightfeather
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11057
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 5:38 pm
Custom Rank: Your Admin
Games: World of Warcraft
Guild: Broken Circle
Location: California

Postby Lightfeather » Mon May 03, 2004 11:47 am

OMFG so much text lolol. Just tellll me how you did it. I don't want to understand it. I just want it to DO it. *_*

Like step by step how you did it.

1. Open x folder and open x file in notepad.
2. Hoot like a howler monkey.
3. find x text and write x after it (or type x in the doc and save, changing color hex codes where needed.)
ImageImage

User avatar
Pink
Buccaneer
Buccaneer
Posts: 529
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 4:34 pm
Custom Rank: Juke-Joint Jezebel

Postby Pink » Mon May 03, 2004 11:49 am

I dont want the entire Group to have wacky messages like yours =(

Spam Spam Spam
love is a plague
in a mix-match parade
where the castaways look so deranged
when will the children learn
to let their wildernesses burn
and love will be new
never cold and vacant

User avatar
Lightfeather
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11057
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 5:38 pm
Custom Rank: Your Admin
Games: World of Warcraft
Guild: Broken Circle
Location: California

Postby Lightfeather » Mon May 03, 2004 11:53 am

I don't want to have random message that pop up when I do attacks or anything... I just want grog colors for my text bubble =) Munki, your text color in the chat bubble seems more orange than yellow looks like pumpkin color. Should try and find a hex code for the yellow that matches the outfits =)
ImageImage

User avatar
Pink
Buccaneer
Buccaneer
Posts: 529
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 4:34 pm
Custom Rank: Juke-Joint Jezebel

Postby Pink » Mon May 03, 2004 12:00 pm

That would be cool, Special guild talking colors
love is a plague
in a mix-match parade
where the castaways look so deranged
when will the children learn
to let their wildernesses burn
and love will be new
never cold and vacant

User avatar
Munki
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7736
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 6:34 pm
Custom Rank: Alouette, gentille Alouette
Location: The Jungle

Postby Munki » Mon May 03, 2004 12:11 pm

Well I can always lenghten the duration of my taunt messages...

Currently they come up once every 6 taunts... I can extend that to 10 or so if I want. It just takes me making a few (read, 40 or so) txt files to load up lol. I may extend it, but nobody else has complained that it spams too often. And it makes me unique :P

As for the color thing. FINE. Here is mine exactly;

/bind ENTER show chat$$beginchat <color white><bgcolor black><border orange><scale 1>

Color = text color
bgcolor = background color
border = border color

I recommend not messing with Scale, but it can go as high as 1.25, and as low as .75 I hear. I also read it's not a good idea to mess with scale, as it can screw things up.

Things to know about this...
When you hit ENTER, it will put your cursor in the chat area (like normal) and throw <color white><bgcolor black><border orange><scale 1> in the chat bar... so don't hit backspace or it will mess it all up. It also doesn't affect replies (since you hit backspace not enter).

Also you can't do like /supergroup Hi with this... since it will put all the crap in front of the slash command it wont work.

However if you start off with just hitting / instead of enter, it will NOT put the colored text up, so you can still do emote, changing channels, etc.

It's not perfect, but it works.
Space for Rent

User avatar
Lightfeather
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11057
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 5:38 pm
Custom Rank: Your Admin
Games: World of Warcraft
Guild: Broken Circle
Location: California

Postby Lightfeather » Mon May 03, 2004 12:18 pm

gah that tells me nothing.

If I were sitting in front of my computer at home I'd STILL not know how to start. You jumped into the MIDDLE of the explanation not the beginning. First, tell me what file to edit. THEN tell me the code. Nerd.

or do I just enter:

/bind ENTER show chat$$beginchat <color white><bgcolor black><border orange><scale 1>

into the chat field when I'm in game?
ImageImage

User avatar
Munki
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7736
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 6:34 pm
Custom Rank: Alouette, gentille Alouette
Location: The Jungle

Postby Munki » Mon May 03, 2004 12:33 pm

That's exactly what you do.

You type that into the chat bar. As long as you type it right then whenever you hit enter it does that.

The reason I was editing those files was for my toggle taunt bind... that requires .txt bind files to load to do. But if you just want chat text, you can do what I typed above and be done with it.

Also, you can use the html color code to enter the color info as well... You probably have more options available to you for color doing it that way.
Space for Rent

User avatar
Lightfeather
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11057
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 5:38 pm
Custom Rank: Your Admin
Games: World of Warcraft
Guild: Broken Circle
Location: California

Postby Lightfeather » Mon May 03, 2004 12:40 pm

so here's a question for you... after I experiment with this and decide I hates it or whatnot... how to I UNBIND the enter key from making color text bubblies. (I'm going to use a hex for yellow that matches the clan outfits.
ImageImage

User avatar
Munki
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7736
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 6:34 pm
Custom Rank: Alouette, gentille Alouette
Location: The Jungle

Postby Munki » Mon May 03, 2004 12:47 pm

I'm not 100% totally sure on that one...

You can either do;

/bind ENTER show chat
(I think)

or most likely, the easiest way is to go back to your Menu > Options > Controls, and select Default controls. I think this would clear all keybinding done as it resets the binded keys to their default functions :)
Space for Rent

User avatar
Lightfeather
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11057
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 5:38 pm
Custom Rank: Your Admin
Games: World of Warcraft
Guild: Broken Circle
Location: California

Postby Lightfeather » Mon May 03, 2004 12:51 pm

Find out for sure for me kk? I don't want to be stuck with it if I want to change it back. =)
ImageImage

User avatar
Lightfeather
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11057
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 5:38 pm
Custom Rank: Your Admin
Games: World of Warcraft
Guild: Broken Circle
Location: California

Postby Lightfeather » Mon May 03, 2004 4:32 pm

omfg my enter key is broken now. Hitting it doesn't do crap. Wtg. bah.

/EDIT whew resetting the option window to default made it work again but I had to reset all my keybinds again.
ImageImage

User avatar
Marcallo
Brew Master
Brew Master
Posts: 7629
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 10:08 pm
Custom Rank: Grand Wizard

Postby Marcallo » Mon May 03, 2004 4:37 pm

Wow, my head hurts......
Dog carcass in alley this morning, tire tread on burst stomach. This city is afraid of me. I have seen it's true face. The streets are extended gutters and the gutters are full of blood and when the drains finally scab over, all the vermin will drown. The accumulated filth of all their sex and murder will foam up about their waists and all the whores and politicians will look up and shout "Save us!"...

...and I'll look down, and whisper "no."

User avatar
Munki
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7736
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 6:34 pm
Custom Rank: Alouette, gentille Alouette
Location: The Jungle

Postby Munki » Mon May 03, 2004 4:57 pm

shit I'm an idiot.

Sorry this is the way it should look;

/bind ENTER "show chat$$beginchat <color white><bgcolor black><border orange><scale 1>"

I forgot the freakin quotation marks.

THAT will work.
Space for Rent

User avatar
Lightfeather
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11057
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 5:38 pm
Custom Rank: Your Admin
Games: World of Warcraft
Guild: Broken Circle
Location: California

Postby Lightfeather » Thu Jun 24, 2004 5:48 pm

Hey dev can you post that bind for teleport that you showed me in game a while back? I need to copy paste it on a new teleporting character, though... I'm thinking of making her a jumper now but just for future reference =)
ImageImage

User avatar
Dev

Postby Dev » Fri Jun 25, 2004 2:52 am

/bind lctrl+lbutton "Powexec_name Teleport"

User avatar
Lightfeather
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11057
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 5:38 pm
Custom Rank: Your Admin
Games: World of Warcraft
Guild: Broken Circle
Location: California

Postby Lightfeather » Wed Jun 30, 2004 1:39 pm

Jump bind:

/bind j "++up"

someone wrote:yeah /++up works. i did /++up, /++turnright, and /++forward all at once to jump around in circles in galaxy city ... yeah i was bored


Haven't tried these binds as I don't have a character with super jump yet so ya'll let me know k?
ImageImage

User avatar
Kiawah
Brew Master
Brew Master
Posts: 3775
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 1:28 pm
Custom Rank: Drive fast, take chances
Location: Charlotte, NC

Postby Kiawah » Sun Aug 29, 2004 9:49 pm

Does anyone know how to bind auto select of a powexec slot to a key?
So i could like type z and auto select (the normaly cntrl click green circle) comes onto say slot 1 in your tray then type like x to put it onto slot 2?

Basically I have two skills that need auto select (hasten and dull pain) but can only have one of them on auto select at the time

Jae
Brew Master
Brew Master
Posts: 5161
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 9:50 am

Postby Jae » Mon Aug 30, 2004 12:33 am

/bind numpad0 "powexec_auto Dull Pain" ?

Dunno for sure. Just taking a stab at it after browsing through the original Bind FAQ on the official boards.

User avatar
Lightfeather
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11057
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 5:38 pm
Custom Rank: Your Admin
Games: World of Warcraft
Guild: Broken Circle
Location: California

Postby Lightfeather » Mon Aug 30, 2004 4:46 am

I made a bind for rest (omg stf) /bind numpad0 powexec_name rest so I could get the rest power button out of my power tray and make room for something else that I like clicking with the mouse. But I couldn't figure out how ot auto click it. I think you can only have one auto clicked at a time because when you try and do it manually, if you select the second power the first will unhighlight for auto.

Here is a list of /commands just for the hell of it:

http://www.onlinegamecommands.com/cityo ... mmands.htm
ImageImage

User avatar
Phat.Stack
Brew Master
Brew Master
Posts: 6035
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:46 am
Custom Rank: Master of the Psychic Dragon Punch

Postby Phat.Stack » Mon Aug 30, 2004 9:10 am

making a bind key for rest is actually a really good idea... Ill have to do that when I get home.

My power bar is packed as is... I hate having rest in there.

Thanks!

OMG STF

Jae
Brew Master
Brew Master
Posts: 5161
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 9:50 am

Postby Jae » Mon Aug 30, 2004 9:47 am

Heh yea. I remember laughing at her when she was trying to bind Rest, and now I'm thinking of doing the same. I have to have room on my secondary bar for my TWO travel powers!

:thumbsup:

User avatar
Railgun
Midshipman
Midshipman
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 11:05 am
Custom Rank: Paladin at heart
Location: Columbia Falls, MT

Postby Railgun » Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:44 am

Here's another idea for Rest.

I have it on the #9 power tray. Anytime I need to use it I hit the - (minus) key and the tray switches. I hit Rest and when I'm I done I hit the = which switches the power tray back to the #1 tray.

I actually do this for Recall Friend and Trip Mine because they are powers I use (but almost never in combat).

You can do the same thing with the upper tray if you hold your ALT key down but go ALT = (for + I think) use your power and then ALT - (minus) to get back to your 2nd tray. If I would have been smart I would have used tray #3 for my upper tray and then ALT - would get you to the 2nd tray and it's almost the same keystrokes except for holding down the ALT key.
Nornagest, 50 Healer, <Myth> Midgard/Merlin - DAoC
MidnightBlade, Natural Scrapper (Broadsword/Regen) <League of Grog> CoH/Guardian :qt:
Railgun, Technology Blaster (Assault Rifle/Devices) <League of Grog> CoH/Guardian :snipersmile:
Nornagest, 58 Cleric, Rodcet Nife - EQ
Whittier: "For all sad words of tongue or pen, the saddest are these: 'it might have been"

User avatar
Kiawah
Brew Master
Brew Master
Posts: 3775
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 1:28 pm
Custom Rank: Drive fast, take chances
Location: Charlotte, NC

Postby Kiawah » Tue Sep 14, 2004 12:10 am

made a neat little bind for my AM on my ice/rad troller, good if your some kind of support that casts buffs like rad or empath:

type:
/macro <name> "team <bgcolor black><color red><border black>Group Hug for AM!!"

say this throws this into slot #, any slot will do, you can change the colors for the chat text to anything, i just picked black and red

then type:
/bind <key> "powexec_slot #$$emote whistle"

User avatar
Munki
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7736
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 6:34 pm
Custom Rank: Alouette, gentille Alouette
Location: The Jungle

Postby Munki » Sun Sep 19, 2004 12:21 pm

I have a bind for Unstoppable, doubt anybody else would use it but me :)

/bind Lshift+Lclick "Powexec_name Unstoppable"

Allows for easy use of my most integral power now :)
Space for Rent


Return to “City of Heroes / Villains”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests